“I Give A Hoot” Thursday #5 – A light discussion on ‘creativity’

The last two days at work I was in a “workout for your job” training – “Creative Problem Solving”. I was worried at first that it was going to be boring and a waste of two days.

Boy was I ever wrong.

This course was developed to help people figure out “what type” of a creative person you are, and how to develop your creative thinking. I spent the entire time thinking not of work, but my life outside of work. I am a very creative person, I just have poor execution or lack of confidence to start. This course kind of gave me a sense of reassurance about myself, and my creative persona and process.

Creativity isn’t divine intervention – it’s something you have to work on.

The quote above is something we came up with as a group. I know people will challenge me on this, but it makes sense to me. Anyone can be creative, and everyone is creative in their own way. Sometimes it’s a whisper, sometimes it a slap in the face. Creativity runs through everyone, it is up to them to choose to let it in and hear it. My creativity is a constant pulse, I always hear ideas and they hit me at different points throughout the day. Most of the time I write them down (or draw them out) but a lot of the time I file them away in the Rolodex that is my mind. I find I suppress my creative ideas a lot because I am preoccupied with other things – mainly my job – and although I love being creative and it’s something that I thrive off of, as things are right now in my life I can’t devote as much time as I would like to it.

Over the course of the two days, there were a lot of “quotes” that the facilitator said that I wrote down because they hit something inside me. I wanted to share there with you all because they inspire me, and perhaps they will do the same for you.

Creativity ignites something inside you.
The hardest part of the creative process is sitting down.
Look for creativity using the future, not creating from the past.

The last one REALLY hits home for me because I have always been fearful of putting myself out there. My fear is based on past experiences, and I really should look towards the future and stop holding myself back because of my past. When the facilitator spoke those words, I had a big – in the words of Oprah – “Aha” moment. Why should my past weigh on my future? Because I gave up in the past does not mean I am destined to give up again. So much of my creative life has been comparing myself to who I used to be creatively, and that has really clouded my vision to the great future that lies ahead of me.

Now this concept differs from what I mentioned in my last post about knowing where you came from to know where you’re going. Identificatino of ones self and their creative ideas and process are two completely different things. You are who you are by nature, whether you accept it or not. The person you were in the past is the same person you are now. Yes, you may have changed opinions or points of view or how you act, but at the end of the day you’re still you. The things you did in the past define you as a person, they’ve lead you to this moment. You wouldn’t be who you are if you didn’t go through the things you did, right? But, when you break it down YOU don’t change.

It’s hard for me to explain my thought process (my mind thinks at a thousand miles a minute, while my fingers desperately try to catch up), but let me try and break it down simply…

You’re past defines who you are today, you’re creativity paves a way for your future.

Does that make any less of a mess of your mind? Does it make things worse? Do my words fly over your head or am I barely a blip on your radar? I would love to know what your opinions are on this, if anyone is up for the discussion.

In other news I got a few more supplies for my Etsy shop, which is always exciting. This weekend I plan on hauling myself up in my house and making flowers and turning them into more headpieces, headbands, belts, shoe clips and all that jazz. I was inspired during my course with a ton of ideas – all of which I doodles out – so I want to work on them while they a fresh in my mind.

Fingers crossed that I’ll have some new stuff for you to look at come next week!

Leave a Reply

