I have an addiction and I’m not afraid to admit it!

And no, it’s not my addiction to YA books…

I love Greek yogurt. Nonono, let me re-phrase that.


I’m OBSESSED with Greek yogurt. Completely. If a day goes by where I don’t have it… Oh boy! I start craving it and go into withdrawal symptoms (kind of like how I do if I don’t drink coffee…). It’s THAT serious.

My day starts off so much better when I have a serving of this thick, creamy goodness. If you guys haven’t tried it I DEMAND you go out tonight and buy yourself a container. If you live in Canada, Loblaws’ PC brand is awesome and the one I have all the time. I’ve tried many different kinds of Greek yogurt (with fat, without fat, with flavors, plain) and this one is my favorite. 0% fat, plain President’s Choice Greek yogurt. It rocks my world.


The reason I choose this one is mostly because it has the lowest fat content. It only has 2g per 175g serving. The other 0% ones I’ve tried have between 5-7. I know it doesn’t seem like a big difference, but I eat a lot of this yogurt. My serving sizes teeter around 200g (I could eat the entire 500g container, but that’s absurd… right?) and I use Greek yogurt in things like my Dukan bread and sometimes i just eat a spoonful here and there because I can.

If you haven’t tried it, I will tell you this. The texture is odd at first. It’s thick like sour cream. Maybe even a bit thicker. And if you don’t like plain yogurt in general, you’re going to need to add something to this stuff. I have become accustomed to it’s tart taste, and I love it. But if I ever need to sweeten it up, I always use a small bit of stevia (not a lot because that stuff is powerful). I personally wouldn’t suggest getting the ones with the flavors added because they hike up the sugar content anywhere from 12-17g per serving size (175g). That’s crazy talk! So add your own sweetener, whatever it may be.

I also suggest adding in oat bran; Dukan diet or not. It thickens it up even more, and it helps to keep you feeling full for longer. Top that off with a few berries… HEAVEN!


My sister got me into mixing my Greek yogurt with herbs (I’ve been using dill, chives and cilantro), letting it sit for a while, and then using it as a dip or sauce for fish and meat. Oh. My. Goodness. So tasty, homemade and 100% chalked full of awesome.

In my constant search to find new ways to use my wonderful yogurt, I’ve stumbled upon three interesting recipes I MUST try. Perhaps reading these will make you willing to take the plunge and try it out.

From: Sprout and Pea (home cooking in an urban, organic, gluten-conscious kitchen)
Creamy Mashed Cauliflower

From: Weelicious (fast, easy & fresh baby food, toddler food and recipes for the entire family)
Yogurt, Honey & Cinnamon Ice Cream (Gelatto)

With the summer slowly (very slowly…) approaching I think the gelatto will be a definite. And I’m always looking for a good substitute for mashed potatoes, and I’ve heard great things about cauliflower.

So now that I’ve given you a couple of ways to try it out, why not do those first if you’re weary of trying this greatness that is my favorite yogurt? I say go for it! Like I tell my daughter, you’ll never know if you like something if you never try it!

And on a completely different subject… If someone walks up behind you and clears their throat, does that not mean they are trying to get your attention? And I’m not talking about the I-have-something-stuck-in-my-throat kind of clearing, the hey-you-turn-around-and-look-at-me way. Someone JUST did that to me and when I turned around they looked at me and said “What???”.

Bah.

Anyways, happy Tuesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

