“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life…”

“… Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

This quote has inspired me this week. I somewhat feel as if this is pulling on my heart strings, knowing how I’ve felt for a long time. Its been a long time coming for me to realize who I am and what I love and what I need to do, so this quote, is a kind of reassurance for me that I’m doing the right things right now…

This week has been nothing but inspiring for me, and it doesn’t seem to be slowing down right now. I’m very excited about everything that is forthcoming and I can’t wait to share it all with you guys!

This week I wrote the ending to my novel. I listen to the song that inspired me over and over and I almost always tear up. Not because the ending is sad, but because I found it. Seeing how my book will end fuels me with the drive to write more, and better. I’ve decided to give myself deadlines here on out. Certain amounts of words a week, per month, and hopefully in a little less than a year a rough draft will be complete. And I’m so very excited for that moment to arrive! We’ll all celebrate together, okay?

This time around, I’ve decided that I am going to keep this novel to myself. In the past I’ve sent some of my writing to friends for them to read. Mostly because I wanted them to ask for more. I wanted someone to encourage me to keep writing. I’ve come to realize that if I don’t want to encourage myself, there is no point in trying to get others to do so for me. Writing is a passion, either you have a fire to write on your own or you don’t. It shouldn’t feel like a chore, and in the past that is what it felt like. Now, that I’m being inundated with inspiration, I can feel the words run through me, they dance in front of my eyes, I WANT to write. It’s a very exciting time for me right now when it comes to my words. I wish I could share them with you all, but for now, these words are mine and mine alone. I hope everyone understands…

Also this week I made so many hair clips. I was surged with a desire to make some, and I ended up creating over 20 of them. Some bridal, some simple flowers, and some shoe clips. Yesterday I was also hit with an idea for a line of veils I want to create – so I want to get started on those as well. Then after those came to me, I started thinking about sets I could make for brides, bridesmaids and the groomsmen. It all hit me like a ton of bricks. So I feverishly scribbled (and I do mean scribbled, you should see my notes…) everything I could think of down and now I have to make a few “example” sets to list up on Etsy.

I’ve also decided that I need to take MUCH better pictures of my products. They give off too much of an “amateur” feel for my likings and I feel as if that is hindering my sales (or shall I say lack there of…). Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I could amp up my photos? I know natural light is the best to use, and now that the nicer weather is on it’s way It will be easier, but does anyone have any suggestions? Perhaps a backdrop that would better suit my products? Props? Anything? I would really appreciate any feedback you guys have. Please go visit my Etsy site and send me your thoughts.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/byamandaleigh

Lastly, I finished up the second book in the Matched trilogy, Crossed, by Ally Condie last night. I cannot wait to review it for you guys, because this series is getting gooooooood. The third and final installment, Reached, only comes out in November, and I am slightly dying inside. I MUST READ IT NOW!!! I have fallen in love with the character of Cassia and I am impatient to see where things takes her. I will probably re-read the series once or twice before Reached comes out. This series has moved up right under the Hunger Games. It’s my number three, with the Divergent series by Veronica Roth in a close fourth.

Speaking of Divergent, its follow up Insurgent comes out in THIRTEEN DAYS! *breathe in, breathe out* I am beyond excited for this one because I loved Divergent and the concept around it. I keep checking iBooks to make sure it hasn’t been released early with my knowing. It hasn’t.

So until Insurgent comes out I am making a conscious decision to NOT read anymore, so I have a bit more time to write and create stuff for my shop. Take some time and do the things I love and fill my time with positive vibes.

And that’s what “I give a hoot” about today.

Oh, and in case you didn’t know, the quotes above, in both the subject and beginning of the post, are from the late Steve Jobs.

Leave a Reply

