I am torn.

I am passionate about two different things I want to do with my life, but I can’t see myself doing one without the other. And both things take up so much of my free time, I don’t have enough time to devote a lot to either.

I love writing. I want to write a book (and hopefully more!) because I know I can do it. I know I have the literary fortitude to do so, I am just lacking the time. I also love creating accessories for hair and shoes. I can’t imagine not doing either of them. But, I usually have to choose between one of the other because I just can’t find the time to do both A LOT. I can do both enough, but not as much as I would like to.

Sometimes I think that in the end I am going to have to choose one or the other. If I want to be serious about either, I don’t feel like both are an option. I have a sinking feeling that one will have to be put on the back burner if I excel in the other. I’m not sure if I’m okay with that. How does one choose between two things they love doing?

There are moments when I waver, when I feel pulled towards one of the two. Just this weekend, as I was making the hair pieces I showed yesterday, I kept getting flashes of my book in my mind. It was as if my writing passion was trying to overtake my accessory passion in that moment. Like it was jealous of the time I was spending with my other passion. It kind of made me laugh to myself. I was having such a hard time on Friday writing ANYTHING about my book, but when I start getting busy with hair pieces my words keep screaming at me.

As of right now, I have no intentions of stopping either. To some this might be a mistake because I am not devoting my time wisely, but both make me happy. Both fill my time, and both are what I want to be doing RIGHT NOW. There isn’t anything wrong with that, right?

I also have a third, yet not as prominent passion, and that is baking. I used to bake all the time, but due to my new health kick at the beginning of the year I have slacked on my baking. I tried a couple of gluten free recipes, but they were not anything I wish to talk about. Fail. I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things with baking, mostly because I found this recipe for chocolate macarons that I am DYING to try out. I’ve made one successful attempt at macarons in the past, and many fails. I’m hoping this recipe – which is different from the others I’ve tried – will show more promise. I will definitely post my adventures in that when the time comes.

Oh yeah… And don’t forget how much I love to read and how much time I spend doing that. Lucky for me I read during my lunch hour, so I can get a book done in a couple of days worth of lunches. Speaking of which… I’m starting to hyperventilate a bit because Insurgent (sequel to Divergent by Veronica Roth) comes out tomorrow… I have already pre-purchased it and cannot wait to wake up tomorrow and see it downloading on my iPad!!!

I apologize in advance if I submerge myself in the book for a day or so and people are unable to communicate with me. Please try again at a later time. 🙂

Happy Monday everyone!!

Leave a Reply

