Oh, hello! It’s been a while, no?

I apologize everyone for my lack of posts lately. This past weekend ws a bit f a whirlwind for me.

Last week I finished up a very big project that I wasn’t able to speak about really. My best friend requested me accessory making skills to make some parting gifts for her sister’s baby shower. I was so excited to get a big order under my belt, but oh lordy… It took up much of my free time!

I could have very well made the usual flowers I make for hair and shoe clips. That would have been the “logical” thing to do. Those usually take me 20 minutes from start to finish to make for one. Cut 6 layers (different sized circles), burn edges, sew all layers together, sew on beads, glue on backing and boom, done! For some reason I am not able to explain, I decided to try something I have NEVER done before. It requires 9 layers per flower, shaped like a flower and not a circle, burn the 434651305 edges, sew each petal on individually, sew on beads, add glue in between layers and fluff flowers up because I didn’t think they had enough bounce on their own, glue on backing. Each flower probably took my upwards of 45 minutes to make. And I was making 45 of them! I made purple, blue and pink flowers, and once all was said and done…

They were gorgeous!

I displayed them in a big glass bowl, and I also displayed a few of them in a frame (I will be posting photos later). Then I had a smaller frame that held the quote: “Every child is a different kind of flower, and all together, make the world a beautiful garden.” I also had my business cards in little take away bags for everyone, so fingers crossed that it leads to a few more views on my Etsy site.

All in all it was a lot of fun and good experience making all of those within a deadline. Now I have a better understanding of how much I can take on and how much time I need to do things in. Oh yeah, and how much of my sister’s help I need in these situations too 🙂 She is a rock star who helped me out with the cutting and the burning of the petals. High Five Alicia!!

On Saturday, my family and I drove up north and burried my Nana. The morning could not have been more gorgeous, the sun was shinning, there was not a cloud in the sky, and everyone was there to celebrate Nana. I had been good all week, no tears, only happy thoughts. I was good the morning of. I was good during the mini sermon that was given. My aunt asks me to read a little something over the grave. My quick read through in my head was great.

Then came the actual reading. Then my aunt sniffled. Then I bust out into tears during the last line. A sob made it’s way out too. And again my sister came to my side and held my arm. Here is the beautiful words I was asked to read:

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sunlight on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn’s rain;
When you waken in the morning hush,
I am the swift uplifting rush,
of quiet birds in circled flight,
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there, I did not die.

Can you guys tell why I started to cry? It is seriously a beautiful verse, and it was exactly what needed to be read. My Nana now rests with her mother and father. I miss her, I love her, and will always remember my Nana. We spent the rest of the day having lunch with the out of town family, and then we went to a nearby ski hill to walk around, but the gondolas were not open so my daughter was upset. We ended up leaving and once we got home we just spent the rest of the night watching movies. Note to yourselves: Immortals was a horrible movie and time I will never get back. And I love Greek mythology, but this movie ruined it for me.

Sunday was Mother’s day, so another day of celebrations. Brunch and supper. Mmmm… I love family meals. Doesn’t matter what it is, I love them. My daughter made me a pot of flowers in her after school program, so now they sit on my desk at work with pride. I think they’re beautiful. My Mr. gave me some money for my escapade in NYC this coming weekend. Very exciting…

Lastly, one of the reasons I did not write a blog post yesterday was because I was CRAZY into my writing. I am getting back into it the more I write, and the more I write the less I want to stop. Yesterday I managed to up my total word count to 6103. I’ve also made a decision to try and write 10K a week. Hopefully I can get that done Monday to Friday because it’s hard on the weekends, but I feel that if I give myself a weekly goal versus daily goals I am less likely to get upset if I don’t make them. So by the end of the week I want to have 8K more words done. If I can manage to keep this up, I am going to consider going to a writing conference in the fall. I’m not very familiar with them, but I think they could possibly give me some great pointers. Could anyone suggest any in the Eastern Canada/US side of things?

Alright, I think that’s a good rundown on everything that’s been going on lately. I still have a ton of things I wanted to say, but I just got inspired to write something and must do it before it passes…

And I need a coffee 🙂

One thought on “Oh, hello! It’s been a while, no?

  1. Amanda,

    In your last year of grade school I was attendoing a management forum in Ottawa but drove back to Montreal to attend a year end closing school ceremony. The gym was filled to the brim with students, family and friends…

    Your mother and I sat and watched the pomp and proceedings with growing enjoyment and appeciation. The school, so young in its existence, was starting to “crank out” its new graduates, and our first born child was among them.

    Then, with no hint or clue… From out of the blue an award was bestowed on the student who excelled in English Literature. The recipoent was one Amanda Leigh Black! In a fraction of second my life froze, With pride swelling up in my chest and threatening to overtake the cavities in my throat, it was all I could do to not jump up and scream to the world that “That’s my girl !!!” …

    Now, years and a lifetime later, I am standing by my mother’s graveside reflecting back to that memorable and oh so proud moment, yet again proud of the child, woman and mother who is my daughter.

    You may have stumbled a bit, you may have let a tear slip away, but you did good… So very good.

    Nana Maggie may be rhe only other person more proud of you than me…

    Daddy

Leave a Reply

