Let’s do this!

So I had a bit of a downer feeling towards my writing yesterday. My weekends are always tough, but setting myself up with a goal to each over the weekend might have been my downfall. I think I will go back to my “weekly” goals, so to not chastise myself if I don’t make a smaller one. So here I go, back to 10K works a week.

So far I’m at 741. The week is young my friends, and I’m feeling very inspired right now.

I just read Tips for the First-Time Backspacers – a post by the lovely Laura Lee Anderson – and I am fueled with a desire to write until my fingers fall off (well, preferably not, I will need them in the future). I want to attend a writers conference, but I feel like I should have a novel behind me, or at least a huge bulk of it. there is another Backspace Writers Conference in November. I think that wont give me enough time to get my novel in the condition I want it to be in before querying it. And since I’m new to the whole “let’s get serious about my writing” I don’t know of many other conferences to attend. Any suggestions?

Anyways, I plan on attacking my goal with a vengeance this week. And how about if I reach my goal I give a bit of a sneak peak at where I’m going with this novel? What do you guys think of that? I’m very proud of my idea and the direction my words are going in. So I cannot wait to take you guys through my novel’s journey with me!

Happy Monday everyone!

5 thoughts on “Let’s do this!

  1. The Backspace November conference is great for workshopping your query letter and first two pages. I went last year and two years ago. ๐Ÿ™‚

    If you write YA, SCBWI has a Winter Conference in NYC that is great for workshops and networking without pitching pressure. Though you are free to talk to agents and editors about your book at the cocktail party and submit to them after their workshops. It’s in January.

    Writer’s Digest has a conference but there is a Pitch Slam so it’s best to go once your manuscript is polished and ready to be sent out. It’s in January in NYC.

    Hope that helps! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much for the information Kourtney! I’ve already feverishly Googled everything you mentioned and my heart is racing from the excitement! Backspace seems like the fit for me at the moment (reading up about it feels right), now it’s just deciding if I want to go in November, or wait until next year. But SCBWI has peaked my interest too! They just don’t have much information out yet, but I will definitely keep checkign for updates.

      Thank you so muchf or the input, it’s always great to get people’s points of views on all this stuff. I feel as if I’m still a huge newbie when it comes to the writing world…

Leave a Reply

