Daily Inspiration – Following your passion

“The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and, if they can’t find them, make them.
”

– George Bernard Shaw

Another day, another chance to continue on my journey. Waking up this morning felt different for me. I can’t quite explain it, but this morning I finally made my decision as to what I really want to do and focus on. My Etsy site has been nagging me since it opened. I love it, don’t get me wrong, but nothing has really come of it. I’ve invested a lot of time and money into it and I know it’s still new (November of last year) but with everything I’ve put into it not much has come out of it.

So for the time being I think I’m going to put a hold on my shop, and really dig in to my writing. Because now that I think of it, if I REALLY had to choose, I want to be a writer. So the hair and shoe accessories will be more of a side thing (very small side thing). My sister and I do hope to have a jewelry/accessory party at one point in the fall, so I’ll be able to sell my stuff then. And of course if people I know ask me for something I will definitely accept, but for now my focus is writing.

I’ve spent a good deal of my life feeling like “the world owed me”. That I’ve deserved more. What I woke up realizing this morning is that I can’t demand more, I have to go out and get more. And the one thing I want more than anything right now is to write. It’s the one thing I know I CAN control in my life (the only thing really…) so I have to start now.

Give me a year guys. I’m feeling big things are ahead of me and all I’m asking for is a year.

Happy almost Friday everyone!

3 thoughts on “Daily Inspiration – Following your passion

    1. Thanks for reading!
      It is a tough decision to make… I love both creating and writing, but when it comes down to it, the written words beats out my hand made things (on most days 🙂 )

  1. Indeed! I am a programmer by day and writer by night but have been finding of late that I am only programming by day and sleeping at night! I started work after my accident to support my writing, not to work all day and not write at night! I feel infinitely more satisfied on a day when I write than one where I do not. Kudo’s for making the hard decision! You have a fantastic blog in general, I look forward to your daily inspiration quotes etc!

Leave a Reply

