The Lucky 7 Meme and a little bit of Billow

Bam!So on Friday Laura hit me with a meme, the Lucky Seven meme to be exact! Basically I have to follow the instructions below and post a bit of my work in progress. I’ve never been good at following rules, but I’ve done as best I could! I am seriously nervous about posting this bit, but I know that it is a must! I mean, who can go against a meme??

Here are the directions:

1) Go to page 7 or 77 from your current WIP
2) Go to line 7
3) Copy down the next 7 lines- sentences or paragraphs- and post them as they’re written. No cheating!
4) Tag 7 authors
5) Let them know

So without further adieu, here is an excerpt form Billow (please ignore possible grammar, verb tense and/or spelling errors 🙂 I have not even begun editing!!):

“Well of course this is a purchase Miss Gwendolyn.” That wry smile of his stared at me again. “How did you think the decision was made? Based on how much someone liked you.” He chuckled to himself. “Really now. That’s not how people do business.”

Disgust splayed itself across my face, and bitterness crept its way into my voice. “I had no idea the Basin was in to human trafficking. Perhaps if I had I would have at least tried to sell myself a bit better.”

“There is not much you could have done. You are old by the Basin standards for a Nihility. There aren’t many Elites who would want you anyways. Too old to morph and train as you have a set character and ways of doing things. Too opinionated as you’ve had years to be influenced in your views. Any young woman your age has really only one purpose.” His gaze went from my eyes and slowly made their way down my body. My scin crawled and itched as I could feel his stare across every inch of my. With every second he gawked at me, my insides burned hotter. My anger reved up. My thoughts began to run wild. I wanted nothing more than to strike this man down where he stood.

Before I could even flinch my arm in preparation, the nanos surged violently. My legs crumpled beneath me and I collapsed to the floor. My body spasmed and then my limbs folded up against my chest without my consent. I could barely breath, quick spurts of air were all I could manage.

The Evaluator stood up and walked over to me. I tried to turn my head away from him, but my muscled burned and fought against me. He crouched down in front of me and ran the back of his hand across my cheek. “You will make a fine companion for the son of Magnus.” The name rang familiar with me, but my mind was unable to think properly. The nanos seem to have stopped my cognitive thinking at the moment. All I could do was nod my head in reply, but only due to a will not of my own. My Evaluator reached into his pocket and pulled out the same plastic tube from before, opened it and held it to my fingertip once again. Slowly my body began to unwind and let go of its hold on me. As my body came back to its normal feeling, the same drop of red gel oozed its way out of my finger and back into the tube.

He then stood up, replaced the tube, brushed his jacket down and walked over to the exit. His old demeanor returned and his body went rigid once more. He opened the door and motioned me out. “That concludes the interview Miss Gwendolyn. You may wait in your room until further notice.”

As you can see that’s only 6 paragraphs, but I didn’t want to give too much away so I took out the next paragraph… Muahahaha…

Moving on… here are 7 authors who I have nominated (also because I want to read their stuff!!!). I’m sorry if you guys have been hit with this before. And if by chance you don’t have a WIP, anything you’ve written will feed my need to read 🙂

1) Lea @ Lea at Sea
2) Kourtney @  Kourtney Heintz’s Journal
3) Jay @ Writenow
4) Catherine @ Catherine, Caffeinated
5) Jim @ The Jim Murphy blog
6) Todd @ Scribbles Revisioned
7) Whitney @ A Serendipitous Happenstance

5 thoughts on “The Lucky 7 Meme and a little bit of Billow

    1. I loved the idea too!! Its a great way to get a bit of your work out there, and to read others stuff… I love seeing what others write!! Can’t wait to read yours 🙂

  1. Love it! I want to know more! What’s the Basin exactly and how does your main character fit into it? Great job!

Leave a Reply

