Daily Inspiration – Persistence

“Believe in yourself and in your own voice, because there will be times in this business when you will be the only one who does. Take heart from the knowledge that an author with a strong voice will often have trouble at the start of his or her career because strong, distinctive voices sometimes make editors nervous. But in the end, only the strong survive.”

– Jayne Ann Krentz

I woke up this morning incredibly excited to start writing again (which will have to wait until later of course). Yesterday I managed to sit down and write a whole bunch of stuff (although not as AMAZING as Emmie Mears who did 7K yesterday! Wow!) so today I really want to pick up where I left off.

Last night I learned a bit about my character, her voice came through loud and clear and made me realize just how strong she is. I really her and can’t wait for you all to meet her a bit more.

Within the next week I will be adding some information on the Billow page so you can get to know a few of the main characters as well as a couple of the places. I’ll try and get that done soon, but right now I’m incredibly focused on getting some words done!

And since I’m talking about persistence, here’s a little anecdote from my night yesterday.

My daughter is the queen of getting dirty. She loves to play in the sand and mud and run around and fall down and roll around and all that good stuff that makes her a hot mess… So last night was bath night. And in case I’ve never mentioned it or people forgot, my daughter has LONG, CURLY hair. Down to her behind long.

So my Mr. is giving her a bath and when she comes out it’s my turn, I get to brush her hair. But what’s this. It feels different. Doesn’t feel as smooth as normal. That’s odd…

Me: “Did you use conditioner on Banana Pants’ hair?”
Mr.: “No. There was none left.”
Me: “…”

So needless to say that the next half hour was pure torture for both my daughter (who cried, and sobbed, and cried some more, and then proceeded to scream) and myself and my Mr. as we had to take itty bitty sections and brush them out.

Never.
Again.

So not to all of you out there. Never let the conditioner go empty. Ever. I can still hear the shrill screams…

My neighbours already don’t like my dog, and now they probably think we’re horrible parents too 🙂

Leave a Reply

