Choices – To listen or to not

I’ll be the first to admit it. At times I make decisions I shouldn’t. I have trouble saying no so I either let people down or chose the wrong thing. I usually think that what I’m doing is right but really its probably a bad decision. I do this in my personal life, work life, and now I’m starting to do it in my writing life.

Its frustrating me right now.

I don’t know if any of you are like this also but my characters talk to me and that’s how I get inspired or know what to write. They tell me their story, I listen, and then I write it down. Normally I only have one character talking to me. Its always been the female lead. Recently my male lead character started voicing his story.

And suddenly I’m being pulled both ways.

Gwen wants me to tell things like this, Braeden wants things to go like that. Problem is I’m being pulled both ways and both voices are so powerful I can’t say no to either.

Bah.

I’ll feel this out for a while and see where it goes and if one voice ends up being strong than another. This is the first time a male character has spoken to me. Perhaps his voice will be louder. The thing is that right now I am drawn to his voice. His story is pulling me in and I don’t know if I want to ignore it. But this is making a dilemma for me because I now have two different stories. However, both of these stories intertwine and end up in the same place. So it makes me wonder if I should listen to him now and include his story, or listen to him later.

It’s funny how sometimes there is nothing going on in my head. No characters talking to me, no ideas or inspiration flowing. And then there are other days when I wish I could just tape record my inner workings because there is so much being said.

So. To choose to listen or to not. Another decision to add to the list of things I can’t make up my mind about. Yeah Mondays (please note: That was sarcasm).

In other news I’m apparently better at golf than I thought. My longest drive was 190 feet (well, I hit it about 150 and it rolled another 40). Go me.

Of course I only managed to hit the golf balls about 50% of the time. The other 50% I managed to miss somehow. Cleared the ball without even touching it. At least I had good form.

Hope everyone has a great start to their week!

3 thoughts on “Choices – To listen or to not

    • That’s exactly the directions I was thinking on taking. I just want to make sure I have two distinct voices so people can tell who is who. It’s proving to be a bit of a challenge because I’ve never written from a male’s perspective. It’s all new to me!

Leave a Reply

