“Writing is like baking cupcakes…”

“… You’re trying to make something from the raw. Like with cupcakes it’s flour and eggs and stuff, and with books it’s ideas and words. The end result is the same though, you want people to eat them up.”
– Emma Shortt

Billow is taking a nap.

For now. I still love the ideas behind it, the characters and the settings I’ve created in my mind, but I just need a break from it. I feel out of the YA writing zone and I can’t pull myself back there just yet. In time I think I will dabble my fingers in it again, but until then I have decided to try out a new venture.

As you might know, I enjoy baking. When I started to devote more of my time towards my Etsy site and my writing, I let that fall on the back burner. I’ve wanted to get back into it, but I’m finding my free time is not as abundant as it once was. There’s a lot going on right now, so setting aside some baking time is not very likely. I also really want to get back into my writing so if I have to choose between the two then writing will take precedent.

I was thinking about this over the past few days while I was watching this show called Sugar Babies, and it hits me. Why do I have to choose between the two? Why can’t I combine the two? BOOM. Epiphany. Why not write about a character who loves to bake and who is possibly starting up her own shop (not unlike a goal I once had)? It makes sense. I could still research recipes I want to try to somehow incorporate them into my writing. I love all things cupcakes and cookies and candy, so this seems like a good venture for me to embark on.

Once I came up with this idea, mon dieus… The ideas were flooding my mind! I’m very excited to start writing, I have to say. I’m feeling the same as I did back when I started writing Billow. It’s refreshing. So Tonight I am going to try to write a little of what’s on my mind and possibly post something this week for you all to see. The ideas in my head are sounding a bit like Chick-Lit, but it could move from there and end up being more, ahem, adult. Depends on how the characters come out into words. Either or I think I am going to enjoy this.

In other news, a dear friend of mine has started up a cooking blog and I would love it if you guys could just check it out.

http://oversalted.wordpress.com/

Sarah and her fiance love to use their kitchen and to try new things all the time, and this is blog is brand new and already making me drool. Take a couple of minutes to drop by and say hello.

Lastly…

A lentil, a blueberry and a fig.

I know it makes they seem so random and probably make no sense, but trust me, it will soon…

Happy Monday everyone!

One thought on ““Writing is like baking cupcakes…”

Leave a Reply

